Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Conditional Value List: Please Tell Me I Can Do This...

tangledcords

So, I'm new to FM, and for the most really like the tool. However, I've run into a problem that, so far, I've not been able to provide a solution for and I am really hoping it's a user error rather than a limitation of the tool. I'm guessing it's the former rather than the latter.

So, I am creating appointments for car detailing. One of the attributes of an appointment are the service the customer requested. I also have multiple locations which means each location has their own set of services. I'll outline the relevant parts of my data model below:

Appointments (AppointmentID, ServiceID)

Location (LocationID, locationDescription)

Services (ServiceID, ServiceDescription)

I have Services joined to Appointments via serviceID and Location joined to Appointments via locationID. On my Appointments layout I have two drop-down lists for location and service (both of which are using the ID's for their respective fields).

I also have setup Value lists for Location as such:

Use values from field: "Location::locationID" and "Location::locationDescription" where I'm using the value locationID as the first field and locationDescription as the second. The value list content is set to "Include All Values".

Then, my Services Value list is set up like this:

Use values from field: "Services::serviceID and "Services::serviceDescription" where I'm using the value serviceID as the first field and serviceDescription as the second. The value list content is set to include only related values starting from Location.

The problem has been that I never get a complete and accurate list of services for any location. No matter what I choose for location, the services list is wrong, and at times empty when there are clearly services defined for the location.