Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

save to PDF with field name as filename

flybriguy

Can anyone here post an exact script step for saving to pdf with field name as filename? I think it can be done by setting the filename as a variable, but I'm only a novice and can't figure this one out.

-brian

Hi Brian,

I'm not a Mac guy so I could really lead you astray if I tried to answer this. I will however suggest that you take a look at the topic called "Creating file paths" in Filemaker help. This page really helped me understand what is going on.

Hi Brian

You are on the right track using a variable.

First you set a variable (say $filename) with the Set Variable script step:

Set Variable[$filename; Value:tablename::fieldname & ".PDF"]

Then you use the Save Records as PDF script step:

1. Turn on the option to "Perform without dialog"

2. Specify an output file such as filemac:/Macintosh HD/PDF/$filename or filewin:/C:/PDF/$filename

3. Specify options for either Current record or Records being browsed

As long as the spcified path exists, it whould work. Works for me! :cool:

Thanks David,

hmmm, seems to not work I get an error message:

"Documents" could not be created on this disk. Use a different name, make more room on the disk, unlock it or use a different disk.

My Path is as follows:

file:/Macintosh HD/Documents

Here is my Script exactly as follows:

Set Variable [$filename; Value:INVOICES TO:: id invoice & ".pdf"]

Save Records as PDF [Restore; No dialog; "Documents"; Current Record]

fyi I tried running the script without the save records script and it just automatically saved it in it's default state (I'm assuming) on the desktop as "untitled.pdf"

-brian

oops . . . . I didn't realize I needed to add $filename after Documents.

works totally fine now!

* here is the correction for those other novices reading this:

file:/Macintosh HD/Documents/$filename