Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

GTRR or Create New

spongersgirl

I've looked at a couple similar posts, but still can't get it to work. Here's what I want to do:

Have job record (on job layout with job id). Want to create a button that:

Searches for and opens a Related Record (an invoice - looking to see that the job ids match).

AND if there is no related invoice, create a new one.

I can get it to go to related record. I can get it to create a new record... but I can't figure out how to make it open the related record if there is one and create a new record if there isn't one. argh. :P

I'm still pretty new to FMPro8, so if you start using global fields and stuf, please be patient and explain it well. :)

Thanks!

Amanda Y

In the parent table, test for the existence of a related record. If one exists use your GTRR, otherwise use your Add Invoice script:

If [ relationship::recordID ]

Go to Related Records [ Show ; relationship ]

Else

Perform Script [ Add Invoice ]

End If

So here's what I tried... and it didn't work.

On tour page (the starting point) I have a button to go to invoice,etc.

Script:

If [tours::tourid]

Go to related record [show only related records; from table: "invoices"; Using layout: "invoices"; new window

Adjust window (maximize)

Else

Perform script ["create new invoice"; parameter: "tours::tourid"

End if

Create new invoice script:

set variable [$$guestid; value:tours::guestid

new window

go to layout ["invoices"(Invoices)]

new record/request

set field [invoices::tourid; get (scriptparameter)]

set field [invoices::guestid; $$guestid

The create new invoice script works fine on its own... and go to related records seems to be okay... but when I try to do the if, else thing... nothing happens on records with invoices and records without them... I'm confused.

Any help would be MUCH appreciated!

Thanks,

Amanda