Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Find earliest date

Tacitus

Hi all,

I'm trying to build a script along the following lines:

Go to related table 'elections'

select field 'date'

find earliest date (year 1990 trumps 2000). This will most likely be in the first related record (but not necessarily) so go to first record could possibly be used if all else fails

copy earliest date

go to related record in table 'Individual'

select field 'first elected'

paste data (date)

Note that in both tables the record already exists, it is the field in 'individual' which is empty. The script would have to loop and move to the next record until all were exhausted. If it finds no data in table 'elections' it would need to paste a blank and then move to next record. Likewise if data exists before pasting (unlikely but possible) it should overwrite.

I was thinking this could either run manually or on closing the file.

Is something like this feasible? I'm a novice at this game so forgive me if it all seems obvious.

cheers,

Tacitus

Well, you don't say WHY you need to do this. The whole idea of relational database is to avoid redundant replication of data.

So, to display the earliest election date of an Individual, you could sort the related Elections records by date, ascending (in the relationship's definition), then place the Date field from the Elections table on the Individual layout (a related field placed outside of any portal always shows data from the first related record).

If, for some reason, you need to keep the relationship sorted in a different order, create a calculation field in Individuals (result is Date) =

Min ( Elections:: Date )

Thanks for the reply.

I'm a postgrad history student and the DBase is for a history project looking at local council representatives through time. Thus there are separate tables for the individual and their electoral record.