Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Function Help

Gloria

I'm very new to FM 7 database. Could someone suggest a way to write a script to find the last record created. I created an inventory DB, everytime I enter a purchase invoice, I need to resort that invoice & print it. I have accomplished the sorting & printing but now I'm not sure how to find that last record. I thought I needed a function in the script but I don't know which function to use. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

IIUC, you just want the last record in the table - why do you need to resort to print? FileMaker automatically keeps all records in their natural sort state of creation order. So Go To Record/Request/Page [ Last ] on unsorted table should do it (which is not a function but simply a script-step).

You will need to begin with a Show All Records as well... but I wonder if there aren't better ways to do what you are trying to do. Because you can print the Invoice BEFORE ever leaving it; in which case, you won't have to find it again and vs. 7/8 allows multiple windows from same table with different found sets etc ... smiley-smile

LaRetta

My apology's, I should have made my scenario clear. I enter purchases in the invoice, the purchases consist of "Product ID" & "Product Description", all these products have a "Catagory". I need to sort the invoice by the "Catagory" so that I can get the value of each different "Catagory". I then need to print the invoice in the sorted format so I can enter it into my accounting package by the Catagory totals. I usually enter at least 50 or more "Product ID"'s on every invoice. As I mentioned the layout I have created does what I need it to do except find the record I need. Right now I'm getting all the invoices on my report when I only want one. I did try inserting Go To Record /Request/Page [Last] into my script but it didn,t work.