Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Trouble hosting shared, password-protected files

VFXbeth

It's a mystery. I have a solution I've been designing for several years on and off. Was going to bring it into FMP 7, but on my current job, everyone's using 6, so I kept them .fp5 files.

I've finally brought the security up to a level where I could put it on a server and allow remote access over a network. There are multiple passwords allowing various levels of access. All passwords are members of groups, so that I could impose maximum control on each.

The files are acting oddly in several ways, and I'm wondering if it's all due to the fact that an attempt yesterday to copy them onto a 1 GB jump drive failed in the "preparing files to be copied" phase... and then froze my computer. Upon restart, the files alerted me they were closed improperly, but then seemed to behave okay after that. Later in the day, I realized I'd lost several hours of work and could not explain nor find evidence of fields created, layouts designed, buttons made, etc. I've had to recreate that work.

Today, I loaded the solution onto the G5 desktop that I wanted to use as the permanent home for the files. The first thing that happened is that the files opened as if they were closed improperly... AND with limited access, even though I used my master password. I closed everything and opened each file individually, putting in my master password. The files now work okay on that computer. (Never have the files crashed or asked to be recovered.)