Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

I thought I had it, but I can't make it lookup

spongersgirl

I have a guest table and a tours table (which may need to be a portal). In the tours layout I have a guest ID and guest name. I want to be able to put in the guest ID and have it lookup the guest name automatically. I assigned the guest name field as a lookup field from the guest table... but when I input a guest ID on the Tours layout, nothing happens. I'm totally new at this and am attempting something rather complex (this problem is only one of many, but if I can figure it out it may help with the other issues). Relationally, both tables are related at guest ID and guest name....

Help! I'm at a loss about why it won't work....

Thanks,

Amanda

Hi Amanda,

"related on ID and guest name.."

If this is true, herein lies the problem. They should only be related on ID. Then your Lookup on the guest name should work. :)

LaRetta

Relationally, both tables are related at guest ID and guest name....

relate only by guest ID and it should work fine. if you need further assistance, please post

maarten

That worked! Thanks so much. Can I ask one more question?

I have another table called parks with about 10 different parks. On the Tours page I want to be able to input the park ID and have it lookup the park name. The only catch it that I want to look up more than one park ID per tour id... The tables (tours and parks) are related through park id and nothing else (based on my last issue).

The problem I'm running into is one of two things.

1. if I do it as a lookup, it always fills the same park based on the first park id I input and it ignores the subsequent park id entries.

2. if I try it as a portal, it won't let me enter more than one line (or on a new record, it won't let me enter any data in the portal.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks everyone!

Amanda y

Hi Amanda,