mcinfly

Salary - What to charge

mcinfly

I've been designing a database for a company since December. Initially, this was a small project that was to be done in a month or so. Since then, it has grown to being held on a server that 5 companies access via "Open Remote" to share related client information. There is appearing to be no end in sight for when this project should be "Finished."

The problem was that I had initially spec'd only $25/hr, but I believe I should be paid considerably more than that now and would appreciate some suggestions from those of you who have been doing this a while.

To begin with, I've only been doing this off and on for a couple of years, but I have extensive database management experience and I have proven to do an excellent job with what is required in Filemaker Pro.

Here's what I've done and what I'm in charge of:

-Consult with every employee and determine a way to impliment their individual jobs into the DB functionality (5 different companies)

-Designed DB to accomodate 8 different Job responisibilities, which has included 9 tables, hundreds of scripts and dozens of layouts and reports, not including a semi-ad hoc reporting feature (that turned out pretty cool, I might add).

-Purchased & Set up Server/domain so that DB can be accessed from any location.

-24/7 response time for any problems or questions

-Oversaw Data conversion from spreadsheets to the DB I designed

-All aspects of planning, design & production of database development.

-Trained employees

-purchased and set up their computers

-I've also helped with other tasks like getting their entire file cabinets Document Imaged and put on a server database (60,000 pages or so). My doing this saved them $12,000 compared to what a copying center wanted just to make paper copies in 3 days.