Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

HELP! Corrupted file without adequate backup!

lukes4

I am new to this forum and am actually not a FM developer (more of an end user). I am a medical doctor who uses a Filemaker Pro based electonic medical record (v5.5.2) with about 4 Macs (server running Mac Classic, 1 client running Classic, and 2 clients with macOS X). I had previously backed up the database (on the server) nearly every day, but had gotten behind by a few weeks recently. Just the other day, the server crashed as one of the clients was quitting out of the database. This resulted in a force quit/reboot of the server computer.

After re-launching the server, FM gave the window as each .fp5 file was opened saying "the file was not closed properly, filemaker is now performing a consistency check". This process occurred for each data file, except for three of them-- where the alert was as follows " this file has been damaged-- you will need to recover this file from the file menu" or something like that. I proceeded to "recover" each of these 3 files, and they all appeared to successfully "recover". I then tried to launch the database again, but when it attempted to open some of the damaged/recovered files, it gave the alert "access privileges have been damaged or tampered with. Please contact Filemaker if this issue cannot be resolved."

I have contacted the developer of the medical record software and sent off a copy of the database to them to try to recover. Just today, they contacted me and said that they were unable to recover the data-- that they simply were unable to open these "damaged" files to even import/export the data. They supposedly have some tools from Filemaker (given to developers) to recover data by exporting them out of damaged files and importing them to good ones. They recommended that I contact Filemaker to see if they could help recover some data, or at least open the file.