Sign in to follow this  
rpatel

find and display

rpatel

Hi to everyone,

I need some help.

I have developed a patient database for the program i work with and am having difficulties with the following.

For the find: there are 20 different fields a user can choose from for their find. They may not choose all of field, but they have the choice of 20.

What I would like to do, is once the field is choosen and the find is complete, I would like the results to be viewed on a table view, with only the items the used to search with (this could included multiple criteria). Ideally I do not want all the tables to show which are related to those fields, just the fields.

#1: Is idea of mine even possible?

#2: if so, how do I do it?

Anyone and everyone's help would be appreciated, as I am a beginner to FM and to database development.

Thanks in advance.

:eek:

SurferNate

Yes almost anything is possible, but you need to adjust your expectations based upon your ability and time available.

1) You can build a special "Find" layout with global fields which are linked to value lists. This limits the data that one can enter for their find request. One way to do this is to have a special table called "Find" and have fields in that table which are only used to enter find data. Then you have a script attached to a button which goes to the special "results" layout and enters all of the "find" data and then performs a find.

Issues to consider:

If you have 20 fields and you only want the user to see the fields which they used for their find request in the results, I am not sure how that could be done (though I am sure there is some way even if it is convoluted and counterintuitive). You would be better to build one or more "result" layouts which the script would choose from based upon the find request.