Sign in to follow this  
Prith

Calculate percentage

Prith

Hi,

I am new to filemaker pro. I've been working on it for 2 weeks. I am hoping somebody could help me out here.

I have an Evaluation table. The table consists of fields - Job Title, Department, Years of Experience etc. In my layout, I want to be able to choose a particular Job Title, say "Professor" and find the percentage of Professor records. And similarly for Department. If I choose "English" Department, I want to get the percentage of English department records.

This is my first step. My next step is to choose "Professor" and "English" department and find percentage records with Professors from English department. I hope somebody can help me out here.

Thanks,

Prith

Taff

Hi Prith

One way of achieving what you want is to create a self-relationship. To do so go to Define Relationship select New and when prompted to open a file select the file you have open. Lets call this relationship Job_Title and match the Job title in the current file with the job title in the related file.

Now the relationship is set up you can create a calculation field using this calculation

Count(Job_Title::Job Title) / Status( CurrentRecordCount)

The first part of the calculation uses the relationship to count the number of job title that are the same. The second part of the claculation counts the number of records in the file. Set the calculation to number. To display this as a percentage - enter Layout Mode and select this newly created field, open the Format menu and select number. Tick the check box for Use Notation and select Percentage.

Now create a second self-relationship on the field Department and repeat the above steps.

That covers problem one for the next problem you could concatenate the two field job title and department. To do so create a calculation field and use the following calculation

Job Title & Department