Sign in to follow this  
ericb

Urgent help with lookup lists

ericb

Hi all

I am new to Filemaker, comming from an Access, MSSQL background. I was wondering about creating drop down lists related to another table. In access for instance, you would create the drop down list using a relationship between the main table and the lookup table, the main table would then store the id number of the lookup value.

Is this the same in Filemaker or is ther another way to do it. If this is how, then how do you have the lookup table related to two diffent tables via relationships (i.e. Suburb field in clients and staff table).

Many thanks for any help.

Eric

Maarten Witberg

I'm not sure whether you are using the filemaker meaning of "lookup". A lookup is based on a relationship but values are copied from fields in the related file to fields in the current file at record creation. That means if values change in the related file, they will not be updated unless you give fm orders to do a relookup.

You can also choose to display fields from the related file into the current file. In that case, the fields are automatically updated when they change in the related file, and this works both ways: if you change a value in a related field in the current file, it is updated in the related file.

If you want related fields or lookup fields from two files in a third one, you must define two separate relationships. related fields or portals only show records from one relationship, that means one other file.

I've never tried to use one drop down list for two relationships, it can probably be done but I don't immediately see a rocksolid way to do that.

but you want to see a match between clients and staff that live in the same neighborhood and display that match in a third file?

what's the third file for?

you work with v6 or v7?

the principles, as i understand them, are the same for both versions but the setup is different.

if you use v6 I can probably help you. let me know.