Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Date script or calc (from-thru)

Bigray

Hi.

I’m a 2-month newb to FMP 6.0v4 and learning on the fly. I’m looking for a script or calc for sorting records by date. Preferably the user would enter a start date and finish date(From & Thru @ runtime). All my efforts have been unsuccessful thus far. So I'm praying to the FMP gods frown.gif for guidance. Any Help would be great.

Thanks,

Ray.

Hi Ray, welcome to the Cafe' smile.gif

If you wish to find a certain group of records within a User-defined date span and, if you wish to sort those records by date, you will need a script. Here's one way:

Create two global (date) fields called gFrom and gThru. Create a Layout called Find Date on which you have placed these two global fields - allow FM to create the field labels for you also.

Then perform a manual sort on your date field by selecting Records > Sort. Find your date field on the left and 'Move' it to the right. Select whether ascending or decending (as you prefer). Let's call your date field DateField. Then immediately create the following script:

Set Error Capture [On]

Set Field [gFrom, TextToDate("")]

Set Field [gThru, TextToDate("")]

Go to Layout [Find Date]

Loop

Show Message ["Please enter Start and End dates."]

Pause/Resume Script []

If [isEmpty(gFrom) or IsEmpty(gThru)]

Show Message ["You left one of the date fields blank. Do you want to try again?" (OK, Cancel)]

If [status(CurrentMessageChoice) = 2]

Go to Layout [Your Original Layout]

Exit Script

End If

If [not IsValid(gFrom) or not IsValid(gThru)]

Show Message ["One of the dates entered is an invalid date format. Do you want to try again?" (OK/Cancel)]

Exit Script

End If

Exit Loop If [not IsEmpty(gFrom) and not IsEmpty(gThru) and IsValid(gFrom) and IsValid(gThru)]

End Loop

Go To Layout [layout with your date field to search]

Enter Find Mode [] ...uncheck Restore Find Requests & Pause