Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

ExecSQL making me nuts.

NFBC_Danny

New member here, and fairly new to FMP.  I am Webmaster for our local bicycle club.  We use FMP 18 to keep track of our members' ride mileage for each 'club year'.

Recently we have added some changes, we have divided our members into two groups, ones who are able to ride everyday and those that are Limited to only after work and weekends.

I have made the necessary changes in FMP to accommodate this, but our wonderful Board of Directors has concerns that someone may try to cheat by saying they are Limited when they are actually Everyday, so I have to create a running count of the number of rides for everyone.  I am a retired programmer on the IBM Midrange platform with 30 years of experience, so I am quite familiar with SQL.

My first attempt was to make the RideCount field a calculated field using ExecSQL, all I got was ?, so I tried to move the ExecSQL statement to a script, so I could run it in debug and see if I could make it work there.  Then I discovered that I needed to change the field to a non-calculated field, so I removed the calculation aspect and reverted it to a text field.  When I ran the script I again got the ?.

This is my ExecSQL statement:

ExecuteSQL("SELECT count(*) from Events_Members  WHERE Events_Members::cyclist ID = cyclists::cyclist ID and Events_Members::ride miles >  1";"";"" )

I tried to attach pdf docs of the file layouts, but was not allowed to do that, please let me know what additional info you might need.

Thank in Advance,

Danny Hayes

North Florida Bicycle Club,

Jacksonville, Florida.

I don't have a field to get a sum of, or at least no field that would be appropriate for summing to get the ride count.

You should be able to submit pictures and sample files.