Welcome the ORIGINAL FileMaker Community

Take a moment to join us, no noise, all FileMaker...We Promise

oklord

Scripting Suggestions for getting data from another table

oklord

Hello FileMaker Forum!

I'm a Newb, been using FM 16 for about 3 months, but I'm an old dBase programmer from the day.

Thanks in advance for assistance!

I have a button on a form that when pressed/clicked calls a simple working script that I'm trying to add an if statement to.

In the form the user has already selected a budget category from a pull-down list taken from Categories::Category and the table ID gets stored in field CheckBook::CAT1.  The user also enters into field "CheckBook:Cat1 Amt" a dollar amount of an expense.  Tables Checkbook and Categories have relationships set.

The script works except for my new IF statement.  What I'm trying to do is to replace the amount in "Categories::Category Total" with a new amount by doing Categories::Category Total - CheckBook::Cat1 Amt

I can see by using the debugging tool that the other table isn't focusing on any record possibly indicating my relationship needs tweaking or I need to move the record pointer to the correct record in the other table to be able to do a set field.  I'm not sure what functions, etc to use.

Thanks again!

Steve Martino

You should post your script.

Josh Ormond

A couple of small notes and a thought on your issue.

1. It looks like there is a "?" in the field name of CheckBook::Totaled? I would highly advise against that practice. Those special characters can cause unexpected behaviors sometimes.

2. Why are you using "Insert Text" in step 5?

3. When setting fields across relationships, the Set Field ( or any step except a couple ) will act on the 1st record in the relationship. You can get around that if you are working in a portal, or isolate the record you want update using another relationship.

oklord

Thanks for the thoughts.  I did change the field name and took out the ?.  Great thought!