The ORIGINAL FileMaker Community - Forum - Online Business Apps & Software Forum

Groom

Can anyone help, I am a novice with Filemaker but have developed a database for my own business a Guesthouse B&B.

I am building some reports and one for the love of me I do not know why I can’t get it, it should be simple…I think.

I have a value list called Account_Category in a Table called Expenses. The Account_ Category is assigned to an invoice that comes in along with date and value supplier goods etc.

An example of some of the Account_Category are

Legal / Professional Fees

Loan Repayment - Capital

Loan Repayment - Interest

MISC

Pension Costs / NI Stamp

Phones / Broadband

Property Maintenance

Rates

Stationary / Postage

Supplies / Groceries

Vehicle Costs

The report I am trying to get is 

The Category ie Rates 2011 £xxx

2012 £xxx

2013 £xxx

Total £xxx Should be simple but can I do it..no.

I can get the category and a total over the whole period for each category and a total spend

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks David

Screen Shot 2018-02-13 at 11.54.56.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-13 at 11.56.02.png

Steve Martino

Can I see your layout in layout mode, showing the parts on the left?

Also you don't need Sort Records by field, just sort records, and you can put multiple criteria in one script step

In sub-summary reports in general, make the sub summary part the field you want to see, and sort by this field. You can have multiple sub-summary parts, and sort by all of them to get multi layered reports, or just sort by one of them to get a more simplified or overview report.

In your case, just guessing, your first sub-summary report, should be by category, and the second sub-summary should be by date, sorting on both in one step. 

• Like 1

Groom
12 minutes ago, Steve Martino said:

Can I see your layout in layout mode, showing the parts on the left?