Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

I want to create a random number generator that will help our team prioritize which row in a portal table they should act on. In a participant's record there are related eligible studies, if the participant has 3 eligible studies it is hard to determine which one should get picked first. So I tried to come up with a random number generator.

In the record and layout with the portal, I have a formula acting on sumeligible (i.e., the number of eligible records) as follows:

RandAssign: If(sumeligible>1;Int(Random*sumeligible)+1;1)

That works great, but it constantly updates, which makes sense because of "Random". However, I would only like it to update when sumeligible changes. If sumeligible doesn't change, I want it the field to stay the same.

Should I use a script? If so, how do I do that -- I am very new at scripting. Is there a way to do a GetValue command and then not have it recalculate until sumeligible changes? I'd really love some help/insight on this! Thank you!

Attach an onObjectModify script trigger to the sumeligible field.

The script should be

Set Field[RandAssign; If(sumeligible>1;Int(Random*sumeligible)+1;1)]

Thanks, doughemi.

I tried this, but it still always updates the number because I have over 1000 participants and each time I change to a different participant record the associated portal (and sumeligible, which is based off of the portal) is modified. Or perhaps there is another reason why and I am mistaken but something is getting modified regardless? Perhaps a different script trigger?

I would only like it to update when sumeligible changes. If sumeligible doesn't change, I want it the field to stay the same.

each time I change to a different participant record the associated portal (and sumeligible, which is based off of the portal) is modified.

Then you DON'T want the randomizer to change when sumeligible changes.