The ORIGINAL FileMaker Community - Forum - Online Business Apps & Software Forum
Landy

Filter for FM8.5 Portal

Landy

Firstly, I'm an amateur when it comes to Filemaker, and I'm still using V8.5 having graduated from V3 after a decade using this version - why V3, simply because it allowed networking. Now you have to buy licences, etc. Wish I had a superannuation policy like this!

Anyway, I have written an high value Asset Register to link equipment we have brought, to where we have deployed them, what accessories are included, service history and the like. But I have reached a point that I'm stuck!

I start with a “Master File” which contains core information about who supplied the equipment, and where they are deployed, price paid, warranty term, etc.. This file has a portal which links via a “Lines Part” file to a “Parts File” which records all the serviceable parts (items with a serial number) that comprise the equipment.

In the “Master file” I want to list against a specific record of the purchase, only the goods and the serviceable parts that were supplied with the goods and which came from a particular supplier.

The problem is I cannot see how to filter the items from the “Parts File” into the portal so that only parts from supplier A with a serial number are shown as being deployed to site B.

The Parts file is like a big warehouse and we choose the parts we want from it to build up the equipment going to site B, but only using pats from supplier A.

Does this make sense, and has anyone suggestions as to filtering only what I want the portal to see?

eos

Could you please describe this in a more tabular form? Prose simply can't do justice to the beauty of relational data structures …

But I assume you now have

Master file ---- Parts File

May I suggest some IMO better names: Equipment ---- Components?

Naming tables for the entities they store makes things go more smoothly.

I think you need

Sites

|

^