Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Portal Headache

extreme

can someone please advise

I have a form called contacts

a form called survey

a form called survey detail

I have put a portal row in the survey form but its not showing details from survey detail.

I have been reading and viewing videos to try and sort it but can't

Can someone please advise I have attached what I have done.

Thank you portal.fp7

For anything to display in the portal you have setup there needs to be a match between two fields in different tables.

Your portal is setup as ---> Survey::Survey_ID = Survey_Detail::Survey_ID

But you do NOT have any values in either of those fields on either side of the relationship. If Survey::Survey_ID=001 then the portal will display any Survey_Detail items that also have a Survey_Details::Survey_ID = 001.

Thanks Techphan for the reply

I know i have been here a while but im still a noob at filemaker

Would it be possable to explain in easy terms what I need to do please

Thanks

Well, first thing I would go back to the database planning and make sure the data is stored correctly in each of the three tables, and that the tables are related correctly to each other. By this I mean make sure the fields (information) belongs in the table where it now resides. Very few fields should be empty. I noticed in your uploaded DB that there were many fields without data (unless you removed them to protect privacy). And if the relationship fields are empty in either table there will never be records in the portal.** (see last sentence for an exception).

And as far as portals are concerned, let's take a hypothetical situation where I have a lot of customers. And since I have a good memory for faces (true) and a bad memory for names (also true), I want to make a special area of my Customer form where I can look up names.