Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Filtered Drop Down List

pademo60

First of all, yes I am a newbie and this is my first post.

Secondly, PLEASE, PLEASE don't send me to another thread. I have been on other forums to ask this question and they keep sending me to other threads. But when I try to understand them it doesn't make sense to me.

So what I am hoping for is someone, anyone who can spell it out for me in this thread.

Here we go:

Our company has:

Employee Table: EID (Primary Key), Fname, Lname, fk_SID (foreign key from Status Table), etc

Status Table: SID (Primary Key), Status Name, Status Code

Classroom Table: CID (Primary Key), ClassName, fk_EID, etc

Our company has employees who can be Students Level 1 - 4, or they can be Teachers Level 1 -4,

An example of an Employee Table:

EID1, John, Doe, SID08 (which = Teacher Level 4)

EID2, Anita, Friend, SID01 (which - Student Level 1)

What I would like is a layout that has:

1)Drop Down List for Teachers only (because there is only one teacher per class)

2) Portal for Students which can be selected (because there can be up to 10 Students per class)

IF I have the above right, I think I need a calculated field which I can then use a value list for the teachers. Is this right?

IF so, how do I set this up, (i.e. which windows do I pop up? which tab do I click on? What calculation do I write? etc.)

I know all of this above may sound silly, but I'm over 50 and pulling out what little hair I have left. I can write this out in "C" language or MYSQL using a "WHERE" clause but I can't, for the life of me, figure out how to do this in Filemaker Pro 11 Advanced.

PADEMO60

Sigh. This is exactly what I was hoping wouldn't happen. The "Similar Threads" have numerous problems. One says,"Warning: This is an Old Thread

This discussion is older than 365 days. information contained in it may no longer be current.

Not only that the "Threads" it points to don't work either.