Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Script to add information from a 2nd table

nfu217

Hello,

I have two tables, one called "Projects" and one called "Contacts". The Projects table has fields for members, which I would like to populate from the Contacts table. I would like to do this by allowing the user to go from a Project record to the Contacts table, search for the contact they would like to add as a member, and copy that name back into the Projects table under that specific project.

I am a novice so am not sure of the best script for this. I currently have a button which runs a script that takes one from Projects to Contacts and enters find mode, allowing the user to perform a find for that person, and then continue the script to copy their name back into the members field in the project table. If I find the correct person on the first find it is easy to continue the script and get that name copied back into my Projects table. However, it is highly likely that the user will have to perform more than one find to get the right person, and trying to perform a second find breaks the script. Can I set up a script so that the user can go from Projects to Contacts, perform as many finds as he/she needs to find the correct contact, and when they are ready copy that name back to the Projects table? Or does it need to be two separate scripts?

Thank you for your help!

The Projects table has fields for members, which I would like to populate from the Contacts table. I would like to do this by allowing the user to go from a Project record to the Contacts table, search for the contact they would like to add as a member, and copy that name back into the Projects table under that specific project.

How about, instead, the user clicks on a field that drops down with a dropdown value list of Contacts, and picks from the value list. Then they don't have to be navigated to some other screen and nothing as cumbersome as copying is necessary.