Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Missing Field Values

kvandervorst

I am new to overseeing our Filemaker Database. We have used Filemaker for more than 10 years. We use this as a school inventory list and have each item listed with a unit cost. This then is calculated for a total cost. When we recently went into the database and found that each record's "unit cost" has disappeared, hence making the total cost disappear. I have tried editing the field and trying to restore a backup file, but the backup file also has the unit cost field values gone. The actual column is there but it appears that all the values have been deleted. Now I do not know how this could be as you cannot simply highlight the column and "delete" the values. Does anyone know what could have happened and if this information can be recovered? I appreciate any help.

First guess is that the unit cost data is in a related file, and that file has gone missing or gotten corrupted. Go to layout mode, and look at the unit cost field. If the field is indeed from a related file, you will see a "::" in the middle of the field name. The part of the field name before the colons is the name of the related file, which you can search for in your backups.

Thank you for your reply. I am not seeing a :: in the unit cost. Also I am not seeing any other files that this unit cost could be related to. I have attached two screen shots of the browse view and the layout view. If you see anything that could help me I would so much appreciate it. Thanks!

browse.png

layout.png

a) Is Unit Cost a number field or a calculation field? If it is a calculation field, what is the formula?

b) Print out all the scripts in this file to PDF so you can search within them. Look for every occurrence of Unit Cost. Find any script that does a Replace All, does a Set Field, does an Insert Calculated Result, and so forth and for each of them look at possible ways it could have misfired.