Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

List unrelated records - Is a Portal the right tool?

ggelinas-brown

Hi there,

I'm very new to FM but love what I see and come from a web development background. The following is a very basic question:

I have a form (a 'dashboard' of sorts) and want to simply list records from a table (just specific fields) in reverse chronological order, but not use Table View. The ultimate goal is to only show records added over the last 24 hours.

Now, I absolutely know how to do this in SQL, but feel I'm overlooking something simple here. The portal control looks to do what I want, but in this case, the records are not related to anything (e.g. Not bringing up a person, and showing related records). I just want to show recently added records.

If someone could point me in the right direction (either through an example, or a resource that shows how to do this), I'd be very grateful.

Many thanks,

Grant

A screen layout has a contextual base of a table occurrence - an alias to a specific source table (or it can be that source table). If all the records you want to list are in a single table, or group of related tables, you can use list view using a layout based on the context of that data table.

Portals are primarily vehicles to display related records, typically in a scrollable list with a defined sort.

Is all your data in a single table?

There is also the unique Filemaker construct called Table Occurrence Groups (TOG) - a set of alias'd tables, with a set of relationships unique to a purpose. You can have as many TOGs as you need to display whatever information you need, based on the uniquely defined relationships.

Don't break existing relationships that are working - set up aliases - duplicate table occurrences - to each and establish new relationships that match your needs.