glasstream2000

Printing what is checked

glasstream2000

Hello, I'm new to filemaker and was wondering how you would go about setting up a check box that a user could check multiple records from a list view to print.

Any help would be very greatful..!

Thanks in advance

HBMarlowe

Define a field in your table, something like PrintCheck. Create a value list called One_Zero, with the values 1 and 0 separated by a hard return. Display the field on your layout as a checkbox, using the One_Zero value list. Make it small, so that only one checkbox shows. In list view there will be one check box for each record. If the box is checked the value in the field is 1.

Once the user has checked the desired records switch to find mode, check the box, then select "Constrain Found Set" from the Records menu. Those are the records you want to print.

This kind of process is often scripted, including a step that clears the 1 in the PrintCheck field in every record in the table so that only records explicitly marked will be printed next time.

If you need help with that please post again.

henryj

Create a new field for your checkbox, naming it whatever you want. The field type should be number. Then create a value list called "1", with 1 being the sole value. Then on your list view, add the field to the body part, and in the field/control setup dialog select "Display As Checkbox Set", with values from the "1" value list.

Once that's done, to print the checked items you just have to perform a find for records with a 1 in your new checkbox field, then print your found set.

HBMarlowe

Hey Henry! I must have beat you by about one second.

John

henryj

smiley-laughing Just saw the time one the posts. So funny! That's ok, your answer was more complete anyway.

glasstream2000