er777

Simple Sort Script needed

er777

Help! HELP! This should be SO simple but I'm tearing my hair out. I am not a FM expert, but I'm not stupid either...

All I want to do is create buttons (that trigger scripts) that sort fields in ascending or descending order. By Names or Dates or Numbers.

I attempt to duplicate an existing script that works, but for the life of me, I can't see why the modified scripts don't do what they are supposed to.

I don't have filemaker advanced, or I could maybe see what the faulty script is doing, but this seems to be such a trivial simple thing I should be able to do.

Please, any help would be SO appreciated.

er777@ca.rr.com

Eddie

AHunter3

You have one script each for each possible sort order?

Your scripts have one and only one script step, consisting of Sort [restore, no dialog]?

You've changed the sort order after duplicating the script each time, changing it to the new sort order?

You've checked the button that you're clicking to make sure that the script you THINK that it's calling is the script it's really calling? (e.g., that you didn't duplicate the button the way you did the script and then forget to "point" the duplicated button to the new script)?

If all the above is true, turn off "no dialog" so you can see what it's trying to do. Is it restoring the sort order as you would expect (as displayed in the Sort dialog) and then failing to sort it that way, or is it failing to restore the desired sort order?

Can you manually sort the db the way you are trying to get your scripts to sort, without error / problem?

er777

Thanks so much for your quick response!

You have one script each for each possible sort order?

Yes

Your scripts have one and only one script step, consisting of Sort [restore, no dialog]?

Yes

You've changed the sort order after duplicating the script each time, changing it to the new sort order?

Yes