jbaik

Multi-User Question

jbaik

We are running FM Pro 7 on PCs and Macs and we have a database that sits on our network server and not on any particular computer. I keep getting getting an error that says "XX.fp7 is currently in use and cannot be opened ..." when someone has it opened. What settings did I miss that won't let more than one user on the file at the same time? We have licenses for everyone. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide on this.

Ted S

Are you attempting to connect to the open database via standard file sharing like you would use to open a Word document on another person's computer or are you using Filemaker's method: File > Open Remote?

jbaik

Our department accesses shared folders on the company network server so we're not actually accessing any particular person's computer. I am a novice about the whole file sharing thing, but I guess I was trying to open it up like a Word doc. I did see in the user's guide about Open Remote, but I didn't understand how to set parameters on the database file to allow for it? Can you help me?

Ted S

Sure, I can help out.

First off, don't share the database file using regular OS sharing. Sharing in this manner is very risky in that the likelyhood of database corruption is greatly increased. I really can't stress enough just how bad this method is if it even works at all.

Filemaker has it's own sharing abilities built in. You should always use Filemaker's native method for sharing the DB and connecting to the shared DB.