k2qo

Convert 20060612 to 6/12/2006 HELP

k2qo

Hi Gang,

I am new to DB stuff and have inherited a lead list for a new home builder. I have the layouts up and running, sorting is working as required and my printed output looks good. My last task is to get the dates formatted correctly.

BUT, I cannot figure out how to convert thousands of dates in YYYYMMDD format to MM/DD/YYYY format. My new date fields have input masks to allow ten digit text string entry and the desired text field look.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Mark

Clarence, NY

Maarten Witberg

so the current date field is essentially a number field? Filemaker has fields with date format, which are recognised as dates, and upon which date calculations can be performed. Date fields can be formatted to display the date entered in many different ways (see menu bar-> format -> format date when the date field is selected).

You could convert the number field to a new date field by

Date ( Middle(OldDateField;5;2) ; Right(OldDateField;2) ; Left(OldDateField;4) )

do you want to keep using the old field? Depending on the answer, you can make the above a new calculated date field. If not, you'd have to create a new date field and use the above in a replace field contents (by calculation).

In that case, make a backup before proceeding.

k2qo

kjoe,

Playing around with variations of your suggested formula has yielded a text field that looks like:

2006/04/25

when the actual date in the original field was

BUT, I need to have 04/25/2006. Any idea how to "turn it around"?

Thanks,

Mark

Maarten Witberg
yielded a text field

I think you should set the calculation result to date. The calculation I provided is based on the Date( month ; day ; year ) function. Essentially it takes three number values and converts them into a true date, which can be displayed in a date type field or in a calculation with date result.

My function parses out your number.

You say your number is YYYYMMDD