Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Copying fields without navigation

Wuzzbent

Hello everyone,

Being new to filemaker but not databases in general, I have a question. Is there a way to copy fields in one table to another table without having to navigate through the layouts?

Second question.

I have a master accounts table that has the set prices for our services. When a service record is created, I want to reference the master table for the initial prices but I don't want any changes that are done to the service record to reflect the original master record prices. I basically want to reference the master price table for the inital prices but any modifications made to the reference to not reflect the master price list, Is there a good way to do this without having to copy everything over?

Thanks

Wuzzbent

Hello everyone,

Being new to filemaker but not databases in general, I have a question. Is there a way to copy fields in one table to another table without having to navigate through the layouts?

I assume you mean copy the field contents from the fields of one table to the fields of another, and not copy the field definitions from one table to another?

There are many ways to do it without doing much navigating between layouts.

a) If the two tables are related to each other, you merely need to be on a layout that isn't out-of-relationship to those two tables, and then you do this:

Set Field [Table B::FieldName X, Table A::FieldName X]

Set Field [Table B::FieldName Y, Table A::FieldName Y]

Set Field [Table B::FieldName Z, Table A::FieldName Z]