Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

custom calculation for serial number

brio

I'm a newbie at FM. I'm trying to figure out how to set up a calculation for a serial number field that will include the date of creation as part of the serial number. Example result: 091706-0001 (first six numbers as date, last four as incremental serial. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Create these three fields:

Creation Date, date, auto-enter Creation Date

Serial Suffix, numerical, auto-enter serial number

Total Serial Number, calculation, text, = Creation Date&"-"&Serial Suffix

Total Serial Number, calculation, text, = Right("0"&Month(Creation Date), 2)&Right("0"&Day(Creation Date), 2)&Right(Year(Creation Date), 2

&"-"&Serial Suffix

• 4 weeks later...

I hope you don't mind me popping in with a question along this topic, but I have a similar calc problem but with a twist: what if you want the calculation to reset the counter at the turn of the year so in, let's say, 2007, it resets to 010107-001?

Define numerical field, "CrYear", = Year(Creation Date).

Create a selfjoin of the table to itself based on CrYear = CrYear. Name the new Table Occurence of your table "SameYear".

Instead of Suffix being a regular serial number, set it to auto-enter a calculated value:

Case( not Max(SameYear::Suffix) > 0; 1; Max(SameYear::Suffix) + 1)

There's a checkbox at the bottom of the dialogue where you specify the calculation, that says "Do not evaluate if all referenced fields are empty". Uncheck it.

Nuts. I can't post an attachment so here's how I put it together textually. I'm not sure where I muffed putting the calc together because when I set the Layout Setup to show records from the Reports table, I get in all three fields. When I set Layout Setup to SameYear to show its records, the Suffix field remains empty and the Year and Result fields just show 2006.