Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

multiple currencues

memoday

hi there,

I am trying to customize FileMaker Business Tracker free module and I was wondering if tehre is a way to have multiple currencies in FM? I work with various clients with different currencies (USD, EURO, SEK, GBP, etc).

Can I create a currency value list that can automatically populated on the invoice amounts' fields when I select a client? If yes, how can I do that?

I am still a newbie, so please make it clear and simple to get it done.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Rather than "a way", there are myriad approaches, depending on what, exactly, you had in mind and what your needs are.

If you're tracking invoices and some invoices are for sales where the relevant amounts are in US dollars, some other invoices are in euros, and yet others are in UK pounds sterling, and you never have to add euros to pounds to get grand totals or compare between currencies or any of that messy stuff, all you need is for the currency prefix to change and to control for how many decimal places show (US Dollars and many other currencies traditionally show two figures to the right of the decimal; I seem to recall that the euro uses three places; and some languages/cultures/currencies use a comma instead of a period, yes?). You can deal with all of that by using one numerical field for data entry, one text "Format" field to tell the database how to display the amount onscreen and in printouts, and one DisplayCurrency calc field that uses a logical function such as Case() or Choose() to determine what symbol to put in front, what mark to delimit the whole units from the decimal bits 'n pieces, and how many places' worth of decimal detritus to the right of the demarcation mark to display.

Hope that was transparently easy to follow.