Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Giving text (from a pop up menu) a numerical value

heatherg

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, and hoping someone can help me! I am a teacher, and as a Filemaker Pro novice, I've been asked to help my colleagues use Filemaker to create and use a report card. In my school, we give kids a letter grade on up to 20 criteria for each subject. Each of those criteria is a field, and we use a pop up menu to select the value of the field.

For example, the social studies report card is a page long and has 12 different grades on it:

1. Student is able to make sense of new information: A

2. Student is able to use evidence to support ideas: B

3. Work is complete and on time: D

Social studies grade=average of all categories.

I would like the database to automatically convert the letter grade into it's corresponding number (For ex: "B" = 85). I would like the database to then use the converted number in a calculation to calculate averages.

I've currently set this up using the "Case" function, but each field has to be created individually for each of those many different grades. Not efficient! Is there an easier way?

I'd appreciate any suggestions you have! Thank you,

Heather

Well, you could create a table of courses, and then create a global field in your student table that has a dropdown value list of all the courses in Courses to pick from, and that would let you create records in yet a third table, a table linked to Students by the combination of StudentID and g.Course. A portal would show all the courses for that specific student and what grade the student received, and you'd only need the fields to be defined one time around. (And you add courses later, you don't have to dive back in and define yet more fields, either).

Hi Heather,

I'm unsure of the grade scoring you use but here's another idea:

Create a calculation (number) called cPoints with: