Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

techic re: listing a report & my first of scripting experience

mastar

Here it goes..

TIA for you help

Please bear with me, I am a newbie to FileMaker ver 8.5 for that matter.. I am dwelling into an application that’s mostly working.. we are trying to put some needed finishing touches. The other programmer is limited to his ability too, so why i am getting involve, myself having more experienced with DOS dBase programming. This MESSAGE file might have many records, many of which might have the same account# and index field

This script acts on the MESSAGE FILE that is sorted by ACCOUNT#

I trying to print/view 3 fields type='summary', representing totals + the ACCOUNT# and the account Name using a Layout

This is my first ever script attempt to print out summary totals for each account#

The script below however is more conceptual than good coding not knowing exactly what I am doing, of which I am trying to work out my bugs, also my first learning process and would appreciate any or suggestions

SCRIPT

=======

show All Records

Go to Record/Request/Page[ First ] // goto top of file

Freeze Window

Set Variable [ $acctnum; Value: MESSAGE::ACCOUNT# ] // create var is local to the script

Loop // 1st loop through all records

Loop // 2nd loop

If [var called acctnum = the sameas MESSAGE::ACCOUNT# ]

//then increment record -and exit this loop returning to first loop and test next record if acctnum = MESSAGE::ACCOUNT#

Else

Exit /// 2nd loop

End If

End Loop

Go to Layout [ “TOTAL” (MESSAGE) ] //this layout displays only that 1 account# , then the next account etc…

Set Variable [ $acctnum; Value: MESSAGE::ACCOUNT# ] // this now stores var acctnum again and compares account# again for the next test

Go to Record/Request/Page[ Next; Exit after last ] // skip to next record or until eof()

End Loop

Enter Preview Mode[ Pause ]

Go to Layout [ original layout ]