Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

FileMaker Business Tracker and E-Mail

memoday

Hi all,

I am a total newbie and I really need your help. I am trying to customize the free FileMaker Business Tracker solution. I managed to create a script that can save the invoice in the following format:

(Invoice #_PO Number). What I try to do now is to add a script step that would let me send this saved invoice directly to the Project Manager (SalesPerson) directly and creating an e-mail message that has in the subject field the following wording:

Invoice # (InvID) for PO# (PONum)

And in the body message, I would like to have the following text:

Please find Invoice # (InvID) for PO number (PONum) attached.

Kind regards,

My Name

Is this doable? I am a total newbie, so please give me step-by-step instructions.

Thanks for your help in advance!

In FileMaker, almost anything is doable :)

Using those pre-built solutions is not always the best way to learn how to design solutions yourself: it's set up a certain way but you're not the one who set it up and therefore you can't always explain to other folks the system you're trying to modify.

a) What do you mean by "save the invoice in the following format"? That phrase doesn't parse for me at all. Do you mean you're trying to create a printable screen that has certain specific fields on it? Or are you printing out an invoice as a PDF file and you want to automatically name the PDF with a specified file name? And/or save it to a specified folder/subfolder location?

b) I don't understand the "send this saved invoice directly to the Project Manager" either. I suppose both of these phrases might make a little more sense if I download the freebie modules and pull them apart and see how they tick...

c) Your main requests seems to pertain to automating the sending of email with specific subject and body (and file attachment? The PDF?). Try this: