Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

1 auto-enter timestamp for multiple tables possible?

bubba667

Hello all,

I am new to Filemaker, currently using v8.5. I am trying to have 1 field in my main table track when any field in any table is modified.

Here is my table structure:

Table 1: Main Compagny, containing client information, contains the auto-enter modification timestamp.

Table 2: Compagny #2, containing products/services sold to client. Related to table 1 by customer number.

Table 3: Compagny #3, containing products/services sold to client. Related to table 1 by customer number.

In my layout for table1, I have a portal to view the information for table2/3. My auto-enter timestamp based on modification works perfectly when editing table 1 info, but does not change when editing the information on table 2 or 3 from Layout of table1.

I tried setting up another field like the one in table 1 and relating it to table 1, but when it updates the relation breaks.

How can this be done?

Tx.

If you are displaying the file2 and file3 in a portal, of course you could juse list the modified time in the portal.

If you wanted for example to see the most recent update among all the tables for a particular key, you could create a calculation field that returns the most recent of the three. Then display the calculation field on the main screen.

Auto-update refers to updating the current table record, so an autoupdate at table1 it is true will not change when you modify table2 or table3.

You can create a field in Table A that represents the most recent modification date + time of Table A and/or Child Table B and/or Child Table C.

I needed that and found a way to make it work, but it's klunky IMO. If no one comes along with a more elegant solution, I'll post mine. (Relies on the Max function and requires a few iterations between tables...as I said, klunky)