Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Will Filemaker work in a Doctors office

Eyedoctor

I am an optometrist and was wondering if this program would work in my office. I have been working with filemaker pro 8 advanced for a few months..have designed my forms....but cant seem to figure out how to do a few very important things.

First...I have information in the header that I would like to stay the same. It has the patients name...address...phone...acc #..etc... Then in the body i have tabs which I have my forms on. I would like to bring up a patients information...and would like to then type in a new date..and have the header information stay the same...but all my forms on the tab be clear of the previous information so a new file is created. Is this even possible. To make it even more complicated...it is possible to save the previous file...so I can go back and reference it if I need to. I was hoping there was some way the differents dates would allow this to happen. I am so new to all this...I may be asking for filemaker to do things that are impossible.....any help anyone might be able to give me...would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance...and please forgive me...it this doesnt make any since....peace...Jim

You need two tables: a Patients table in which you have all the info that is permanently a feature of the person (or at least semi-permanently a feature of the person), and a separate table, a Visits table, which contains all the fields like Date, Rx_OD, Rx_OS, Visual Field Results, Comments, Amt Billed, PaidStatus, etc etc.