Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

filemaker pro 8.5 prob...

whirlpool6

guys, im new in using filemaker... i have no idea as to the pros and cons of using this... i have tried other dbms like mysql, and even access...

i was wondering how to access filemaker databases in other pc's?

is it possible to access it using other web languages like php? and if so how?

one more thing, i was exploring filemaker and found out that i can still edit the layout of things when i run it... i dont want my clients to do this... how can i access filemaker in other pc's(client) in such a way that it is no longer editable?

thanks very much guys...

hope this problem of mine can be answered asap...

im building an aplication using filemaker but i dont know how to start especially with the deployment issues...

thanks a lot...

hoping to hear from you guys soon...

im using windows xp by the way.

ok lets make this simpler...

is there a way to deactivate/remove the menu bar( File, Edit, ...)?

how/where can i run filemaker so that the clients can no longer edit the layout? can't use shortcut methods? etc...

how to deploy filemaker files within my network? that is let others edit/add/delete records but not edit the layout in my network...

thanks a lot....

ok lets make this simpler...

is there a way to deactivate/remove the menu bar( File, Edit, ...)?

how/where can i run filemaker so that the clients can no longer edit the layout? can't use shortcut methods? etc...

how to deploy filemaker files within my network? that is let others edit/add/delete records but not edit the layout in my network...

thanks a lot....

You can restrict user access to menu bar, specific layouts, specific views (browse, find) even specific fields and tables using a combination of robust navigation and privilege settings. For the latter, look into menu bar -> file ->define...->accounts and privileges.