Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Age calculation for a perfect newbie

Henri

Hi :)

I'm sure this question was asked and answered before but I couldn't find it in my quick search.

I'm working for a non-profit organization and I'm not a programmer/scripter/etc.

I did a FileMaker database to store in our clients files. Everything works fine! Except for one thing: I can't calculate the actual age with date of birth.

I found where to put in some scripts but couldn't find the "Actual date"... I've created a "Date of birth" field (Date type) wich I called (in french language) "Date de Naissance". Can someone please explain me or type me the code I can put in the calculation field to have the age calculated and refreshed each time we open the file?

Maybe it's good for you to know that we're using the french version (we're in Montreal) of FMP 8.0. For now it's the 30-days version, we'll buy the full version when the database will be complete.

Thanks a lot! Any help will be really appreciated!

Henri

Hi Henri,

You haven't said how you want it displayed .. if you just want years, you can use this as calculation - no script needed:

Let ( [

now = Get ( CurrentDate ) ;

thisBD = Date ( Month ( DOB ) ; Day ( DOB ) ; Year ( now ) ) ;

passed = now > thisBD

] ;

Year ( now ) - Year ( DOB ) - passed

)

Result should be number (unstored).

LaRetta smiley-laughing

Thank you so much LaRetta! Everything is working fine now!

I made a little correction to your code (a simple error, see below in red) for it to calculate correctly the age.

Have fun and thanks again!

Henri

Hi Henri,

You haven't said how you want it displayed .. if you just want years, you can use this as calculation - no script needed:

Let ( [

now = Get ( CurrentDate ) ;

thisBD = Date ( Month ( DOB ) ; Day ( DOB ) ; Year ( now ) ) ;

passed = now

] ;

Year ( now ) - Year ( DOB ) - passed

)

Result should be number (unstored).

LaRetta smiley-laughing