Salesforce and other SMB Solutions are coming soon. ×

Repeating fields and portals

Chrisf776

Hey All,

I'm a total filemaker newbie. I've been learning to use filemaker over the last few days. I have some data stored in repeating fields that I'd like to view from a portal. Does anyone know how to make the portal point to a repetition other than the first? For example, I am storing the prices of items ordered on a particular day in one field with 15 repetitions (so I can accomodate up to 15 items ordered). The quantity and name of each item are stored in two parallel fields, each with 15 repetitions. If I want to use the portal to access the 2nd repetition in the price field, the 2nd repetition in the name field, and the 2nd repetition in the quantity field, how would I go about doing this. So far, I can only get the portal to point to the first entry (repetition) in each field. Thanks for your help!

Hi, Chrisf!

If you use repetition fields, why you want to see in the portal.

You mast choose one:

1. using portal with relationship(having Invoice table and Items table with relation between them by Invoic_Number)

2. using repetition fields in curent record with creating form for this record. In the record you must have name,quantity,price and amount and show this fields in the form in this order(horizontaly)

The first way is better.

hi chris

I'm not really sure what you're trying to do, but try

GetRepetition(RepeatingField ; RepetitionNumber)

I do feel compelled to start the usual lecture about repeating fields. They are a leftover from the early days when filemaker was not relational.

It makes more sense to set up your database so that you can have lineitems, where one item ordered is represented by one record. These can be viewed in client order forms, etc.

Repeating fields can be useful in some instances, but not this one.